Keep up with all of the essential KM news with a FREE subscription to KMWorld magazine. Find out more and subscribe today!

Adaptive case management award finalists

The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2012 Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management. Co-sponsored by WfMC and KMWorld, the awards recognize user organizations that have excelled in implementing innovative adaptive case management (ACM) solutions. Now in its second year, the WfMC's awards program for ACM selects a series of notable case studies to recognize and focus on the use of ACM.

Nine named

Adaptive case management, also known as dynamic or advanced case management, is a new technological approach to supporting knowledge workers in today's organizations.  ACM is seen by many as a departure from the previous process-centric approaches to management knowledge work in which the focus is on pre-scripted sequencing of information flows, to a knowledge-centric approach focused on enabling collaboration to support outcome-oriented goals, activities and individual judgment needed to act on real-time information.

The nine 2012 ACM Award finalists are:


ACM takes knowledge and process management to the next level by bringing together the tools that support knowledge work. A clear theme across this year's finalists highlighted the importance of supporting customer-centric goals, requiring real-time adaptation and dynamic decision-making, rather than scripted processes. Another clear theme among the finalists was the role that ACM plays in delivering a comprehensive enterprise information management system-one that serves a virtual container for information captured from a multitude of systems and input points.

From the nine current finalists, the winners will be selected for each of the following categories:

  • Customer facing
  • Public sector
  • Legal and courts
  • Healthcare and medical
  • Knowledge worker innovation

Finalists were selected by a panel of judges drawn from the experts in the field. The judging panel consists of Marco Brambilla, Fred Cummins, Henk de Man, David Duggal, Keith Harrison-Broninski, Sandy Kemsley, Dana Khoyi, Alberto Manuel, John Matthias, Dermot McCauley, Frank Michael Kraft, Nathaniel Palmer, Max Pucher (lead judge), Tom Shepherd, Keith Swenson, Jacob Ukelson, Karl Walter Keirstead and Chuck Webster. In addition, the awards program is overseen by an advisory panel consisting of Thomas M Koulopoulos (Delphi Group), Hugh McKellar (KMWorld), and Connie Moore (Forrester Research).

Case studies

More details on case study requirements and the finalists can be found online at adaptivecasemanagement.org. Finalists receive additional recognition by having their case studies published in the first edition of ACM Excellence in Practice by Future Strategies (futstrat.com). Winners will be announced at a virtual awards ceremony on June 6, during an ACMLive (acmlive.tv) online event featuring a series of presentations on ACM.  

KMWorld Covers
for qualified subscribers
Subscribe Now Current Issue Past Issues