Join your peers at KMWorld 2018 in Washington DC. Register today with code KMTXT and save $100.

 

Opinion

Buyers' Guide
Learn More in the Buyers' Guide!

Across industries, from media and manufacturing to oil exploration and law, businesses have requirements that librarians are best suited to meet. Organizations want employees, authorized third parties and clients to easily access corporate assets (e.g., media, documents, designs, graphics, etc.) through a DAM system. Making that happen requires knowing how to sort and classify content, create, manage and govern metadata and construct workflows. Posted October 24, 2018

California recently passed the California Consumer Privacy Act of 2018. Also known as CCPA and AB 375, the new privacy law will give individuals more control over the information businesses collect about them and impose new penalties on companies that fail to comply. Posted October 22, 2018

get2Clouds secures intellectual property and offers protected messaging Posted October 19, 2018

This KMWorld webcast explores a variety of breakthroughs in Knowledge Management Posted October 12, 2018

These two new tools will support marketing teams Posted October 10, 2018

SearchStax Cloud Solr allows support for Solr in the Google Cloud Platform Posted October 01, 2018

The acquisition will allow Slack to further unify chat, email, and boost search Posted October 01, 2018

The integration allows IT to identify active user accounts Posted September 26, 2018

With the iRODS rule engine framework, users can completely automate an organization's data management policy Posted September 24, 2018

The agreement brings Veritas' enterprise data management portfolio to all eligible federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies Posted September 18, 2018

Using CognitiveScale's Cortex5, Keller Williams will increase the velocity of its AI initiative implementation Posted September 17, 2018

If the early computers reinforced the existing world-view, the Internet upended worldview after worldview. We learned that control doesn't scale: If you want to build something really, really big, you have to get rid of the centralized management functions. We learned that customers joined in conversational networks know more about a business' products than the business does. We learned what a democracy is like when everyone truly has a voice, even when those voices are telling lies and tearing down democratic institutions. Posted September 10, 2018

Idea Lab integrates search within content creation Posted August 30, 2018

The acquisition will enhance Serviceware's ESM platform Posted August 17, 2018

Programmable Conversations will connect interactions across a variety of platforms Posted August 08, 2018

Onboarding Solution Accelerator enables companies to bring together processes and workflows across the organization Posted August 07, 2018

The acquisition adds legal cloud platform to Netgain's suite of products Posted August 02, 2018

Experts reflect on the importance of GDPR and how businesses can adhere to the new guidelines quickly and easily Posted June 29, 2018

Kartridge MDM 360 allows healthcare and life science users to easily locate, combine, cleanse, analyze data and more Posted May 10, 2018

Project Pulse supports project owners, making it easier to control and see the flow of information Posted April 17, 2018

Datawatch Monarch Swarm creates an environment for sharing and validating data Posted March 06, 2018

Maana Q provides knowledge workers with a intuitive user experience Posted March 01, 2018

One thing block chain is doing is inspiring innovation. The technology, along with new capabilities coming down the pipe, will do much to strengthen the ECM platform, ensuring its place in the enterprise armory for years to come. Posted February 14, 2018

The integration allows Mavenlink customers to smoothly transfer project information into Slack Posted January 03, 2018

Even in regressive regimes that block sites and ideas, Internet apps are implicitly showing people the value of the free—or at least relatively free—flow of information. Posted October 30, 2017

OnBase is being used to streamline clinical and administrative content Posted September 15, 2017

The rejection of representationalism is being hastened by the rise of new technology— machine learning—that is refuting some of our old common-sense ideas. Posted September 14, 2017

KMWorld 2017 is co-located with Taxonomy Boot Camp, Enterprise Search & Discovery, SharePoint Symposium, and the Text Analytics Forum Posted August 03, 2017

We believe the future is determined by a set of scientific rules operating on a set of data too vast to be perfectly comprehended. Posted July 03, 2017

KMWorld 2017 offers programming that focuses on leading-edge practices that enables attendees to gain knowledge to build strong organizations Posted June 29, 2017

Knowledge is always the surface of a deep pool of ignorance. This is for at least two reasons. Posted May 31, 2017

By now I assume we're all tired not only of hearing fake news, but also of hearing about fake news. We've seen how it arises and spreads due to flaws in the structure of the Internet. We've heard lots of proposals for how to fix the problem, most of them implausible. Posted April 29, 2017

New software helps human resources departments design more effective voice of the employee programs Posted April 06, 2017

New Confirmit Horizons capabilities improve ease of use and drive deeper insight discovery Posted March 24, 2017

KMWorld's list of the 100 Companies that Matter in Knowledge Management for 2017 provides unique insight into the changing knowledge management market Posted March 09, 2017

The Internet is the perfection of the art—and now science—of attention capture and monetization.
The space is polluted, but it's also far vaster than any attentional space we've ever had.
Posted March 01, 2017

As fake news becomes more common, search engines and social sites might well introduce their own new protocols for the posts that they house. Posted January 30, 2017

Nexidia Analytics incorporates capabilities from NICE and the company's Nexidia acquisition Posted January 13, 2017

I've spent all day counting and can report that there are approximately one million different explanations of what makes something funny, possibly because there are lots of different ways things can be funny. Posted December 30, 2016

New KMWorld survey results are presented in the Fall 2016 Edition of the KMWorld Buyers' Guide, a resource that is now available for download Posted November 29, 2016

We don't know what people will build because they haven't built it yet. But they will. Posted September 01, 2016

What we build is based on what we've already understood about how the world works. Posted July 01, 2016

Experts form consortium to drive and promote innovations in cognitive computing, artificial intelligence (AI), and machine intelligence Posted April 06, 2016

Impelsys and Ontotext are collaborating to bring end-to-end solutions that will allow smart content authoring, discovery, repurposing, and monetization Posted April 04, 2016

We think out in the world with tools. This is distinctive of our species and helps to explain our evolutionary advantages ... Only humans (as far as we know) use tools to think. Posted March 31, 2016

Now that we are deep into the backlash against the Internet, let's pile on by reminiscing about the Good Old Days of knowledge before the Net. Shall we? We shall, taking the news as our example! Posted March 01, 2016

Note that the knowledge that Plato and Socrates are talking about ... is knowledge that leads to right action. Posted January 31, 2016

A $50 million investment in Series D funding will help propel Sisense's growth and innovation in big data analytics for business decision makers Posted January 11, 2016

The idea of metadata used to be easy. It was a type of shadow object that trailed the "real" object of which it was the metadata. Getting right which information to put into that shadow object wasn't easy, but the concept itself was clean, clear and usually rectangular. Posted July 03, 2015

The term "technodeterminism," like "utopian" or "wild-eyed socialist," is rarely used by the people to refer to themselves. But I'm willing to accept the characterization … so long as I then get to claim a moderate form of it. Posted May 28, 2015
Pages
1
2
3

Search KMWorld

Connect